Advancing Knowledge. Enhancing Care.
Advancing Knowledge. Enhancing Care.

Psoriasis News

the latest news from ipc, industry and others



Murlidhar Rajagopalan, MD
Apollo Hospitals
Chennai, India

Dr. Rajagopalan is a senior consultant and Head of Dept. of Dermatology, Venereology & Leprology at Apollo Hospitals in Chennai, India. Additionally, he serves as senior consultant in pediatric dermatology at Apollo Children’s Hospital. He completed an MBBS from JIPMER Madras University in 1985 and an MD in Dermatology from PGIMER Chandigarh in 1989. Dr. Rajagopalan reviews articles for the Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprology and several other national and international journals. He joined the IPC as a councilor in 2006 and currently serves on the IPC education committee.

Last Updated: Jun 06, 2019


Hervé Bachelez, MD, PhD
Saint Louis University Hospital
Paris, France
IPC Board Member

Professor Bachelez is professor at the Department of Dermatology of the Saint-Louis University Hospital in Paris, France. Since 2004, Professor Bachelez has been full professor of clinical dermatology at the Université Paris-Diderot/Université de Paris, where he received his Ph.D. in immunology in 1999. Professor Bachelez’s clinical and scientific research focuses on immunogenetics of inflammatory skin diseases at the Institut National de la Santé et de la Recherche Médicale (INSERM) at the Imagine Institute in Necker Hospital. His areas of scientific interest include molecular mechanisms of psoriasis and psoriasis-related diseases, and other immune-mediated and inflammatory skin diseases. Professor Bachelez has received several scientific awards, including the Robert Degos award. He is a member of several national and international scientific societies, including the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology and the European Dermatology Forum (EDF). He is a board member of the International Psoriasis Council, and general secretary-Treasurer-elect of the European Society for Dermatological Research (ESDR).
Professor Bachelez has published more than 230 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals, including the New England Journal of Medicine, The Lancet, Journal of Clinical Investigation, and Arthritis and Rheumatism as leading author.

Last Updated: Jul 01, 2019

Alan Menter, MD
Texas Dermatology Associates
Dallas, Texas, United States
IPC Founding President

Dr. Menter is Chairman of the Division of Dermatology and Director of the Dermatology Residency program for Baylor Scott & White, and Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, both in Dallas. After obtaining his medical degree from the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, South Africa, Professor Menter completed his residency in dermatology at the University of Pretoria in South Africa and thereafter fellowships at Guy's Hospital in London and St. John's Hospital for Diseases of the Skin in London, as well as the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School. Dr. Menter is board-certified in dermatology. He is involved in multiple clinical, investigative and drug research studies, predominantly those relating to psoriasis. He currently has published 418 articles in major Dermatology and Medical Journals, in addition to 4 books and 6 chapters, as well as discovering the 1st gene for Psoriasis published in the journal “Science” in 1994 with Professor Anne Bowcock. In 1968, Dr. Menter represented the South Africa Rugby team, the Springboks, against France. In August 2004, he founded the International Psoriasis Council (IPC).

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2020


Abir Saraswat, MD, MBBS
Indushree Skin Clinic
Lucknow, India

Dr. Abir Saraswat is a consultant dermatologist at Indushree Skin Clinic at Lucknow.  Additionally, he serves as senior consultant in dermatology at Midland Hospital. He completed an MBBS from AFMC in 1995 and an MD in Dermatology from PGIMER Chandigarh in 1999. He is also a Diplomate of the National Board in dermatology venereology and leprology. Dr. Saraswat serves on the editorial board of the Indian Journal of Dermatology, Venereology and Leprology. He was the national coordinator of the special interest group for psoriasis in the IADVL in 2017-18.

Last Updated: Jun 06, 2019

We use cookies on this site to enhance your online experience. By continuing to use this site, you agree to accept cookies.